In a letter dated August 3, that was emailed to CSX CEO Hunter Harrison, SMART TD general chairpersons batted down Harrison’s claims that workers are at the root of service disruptions.
General Chairpersons Steve Mavity (GO 049), John Whitaker (GO 851), Dale Barnett (GO 513), James Darby (GO AWP) and Travis Raynes (GO 201) wrote:

“Our members, the ballast line employees, rightfully take your comments as a personal attack on their professionalism. They have worked through numerous operational challenges and changes to their work routines. Despite harsh treatment, furloughs and repeated violations of their collective bargaining agreements, it has not deterred the employees from fulfilling their duties.”

Click here to read the letter sent to E. Hunter Harrison on behalf of our CSX membership.